Chatham County - Savannah Metropolitan Planning Commission

We are the bridge between Chatham County, metropolitan Savannah, and our neighboring low-country communities. We are privileged to work with our governmental partners at all levels to responsibly balance growth and development while preserving our unique natural and historic treasures. Through collaboration and uniting urban planning, development, transportation, zoning, historic preservation, and natural resource planning, we live our motto:

Planning the Future, Respecting the Past.
MPC releases Citizens Guide to Government, New District Maps

SAVANNAH (May 16) – The Chatham County-Savannah Metropolitan Planning Commission recently released its “Citizen’s Guide to Government” digital document and the new district maps for Chatham County, the City of Savannah, and the Savannah-Chatham County School Board on its website.

The Citizen’s Guide to Government document is a comprehensive visual guide outlining all the elected officials serving Chatham County with contact information for citizens’ use. The list consists of officials from local to federal offices.

Chatham County and Savannah’s new district maps are now available at www.thempc.org. Individuals can download the maps as Adobe PDF documents for print.


The CORE MPO adopted the FY2024 UPWP at the Feb 2023 meeting

Subdivision Stakeholder Meeting Audio

Oct 17, 2022 Meeting

City of Savannah Redistricting

The City of Savannah provides linked documents for information regarding the redistricting process for the City Council.

Countywide Service Delivery Strategy (SDS) process

The countywide Service Delivery Strategy (SDS) process is being overseen by the MPC. Please go to https://mpc.compplan2040.org/Home/ServiceDeliveryStrategy for further details.

Newsletter and Special Publications

MPC's 2022 Annual Report

MPC 2022 Annual Report

MPC Fall Newsletter

MPC's Adventure Book

MPC's Adventure Book


The MPC has implemented summer hours beginning June 5 and ending on September 6, 2023. Our office will be as follows:

  • Mondays: 8:30 am to 5:30 pm
  • Tuesdays through Thursdays: 8:00 am to 5:30 pm
  • Fridays: 8:00 am to noon